District of Columbia


Clara Botstein

Primary Point of Contact

Clara Botstein
Director of Legislation & Governmental Affairs
Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
District of Columbia
(202) 280-4377




Secondary Point of Contact

Carlie Fisherow
Chief of Staff
Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
The John A. Wilson Building
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Suite 307
Washington, DC 20004
carlie.fisherow@dc.gov, ph 202.417.4997

School Liaison(s)

Air Force
Alonso Hay
School Liaison
Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling & Pentagon
Ph (202) 284-4064
Website: https://www.jbabfss.com/school-liaison-office

Horace Franklin
School Liaison
Washington Navy Yard Naval Support Activity
Ph (202) 433-2566
Website: https://www.navymwrwashington.com/programs/af0a70aa-7c91-4f29-bf50-52511dc1a13c

Seal of Washington DC

Chief State School Officer

Dr. Lewis Ferebee, Chancellor, District of Columbia Public Schools

Military/DOD Representative

Col James Clark, Mission Support Group Commander, 11th Wing, Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling

State Council Members

Clara Haskell Botstein, Director of Legislation and Governmental Affairs, Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
Dr. Christina Grant, Superintendent
LeKisha Jordan, Senior Policy Advisor, Council of the District of Columbia
Alyssa Noth, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, District of Columbia Public Schools
Alecia Ritzema, Student Support Services Coordinator, LEARN DC Public Charter School on JBAB
Alonso Hay, School Liaison Officer, Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling & Pentagon, United States Air Force
Horace Franklin, Region School Liaison, Joint Base Anacostia-Boiling (JBAB)
Parent Representative appointed by the Mayor (TBD)

State Council Meeting

District of Columbia State Council Meeting, May 3, 2018

District of Columbia State Council Meeting, November 22, 2016

District of Columbia State Council Meeting, June 17, 2022 at 1:00pm ET

State Website

End of Year Report


Interstate Compact in D.C. Statute


D.C. School Vaccination Mandate (Jan 12, 2022)

State Profile

Military Interstate Children’s Compact Commission (MIC3)
1776 Avenue of the States
Lexington, KY 40511

Phone: 859-244-8000
Fax: 859-244-8001